BYOD

Standard

Bring Your Own Device (BYOD) is a 21st century teaching approach that educators and students are pushing for to further maximize learners’ experiences within the classroom.

Like Stu in the video, students can learn how to properly use technology in an educational manner in the  classroom and in the school. I am only a year away from attaining my undergraduate education degree; however, I am decades behind in technology compared to the students I will be teaching. I do have a smartphone and a laptop; although I know how to use these two digital devices, I am not expert on a tablet or on the laptop. I am trying to become more familiar with ways to utilize technology with the students, we can learn together and students can be engaged in learning and I know they will teach me new things I didn’t even know existed!

There are many amazing technology tools that can be used in a learning environment, which is anywhere! Not only can these technology tools maximize students learning, it can also help you as a teacher with organization, communication with parents, etc. There are apps that can track students progress and allow for students to enter and collect data! There are also apps that can help not only teachers but Teacher’s Assistants, Speech Pathologists, Learning Resource Teachers, and Occupational Therapists. Here are a few great websites I have found:

Mobile Education – Great website for speech and language!

Brain Parade

 

2 responses

  1. The school I was at for my pre-internship had this initiative for their grade 8s. Was so cool to see the students allowed to use technology to aid their education, instead of their knowledge of technology being frowned upon. 🙂 Love this idea.

  2. I am in the same position as you. I have a smart phone and laptop that I use regularly but I am far from an expert and know that many of my future students will be more advanced at using them. I feel like I should really be taking time to learn how I can use technology more so that I can use the advantages they bring to myself and my students in the classroom. I want to be able to have my students use different technologies in my class, so thank you for the websites. I’m sure that they will come in handy in my learning!